Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2010-01-16 - 19:52 p.m.

Holy Schnikes it's been a long time since I "diarylanded" or blogged or whatever.

I don't think anyone ever reads this anyway, but I'm gonna start writing in it again because it's therapeutic. and I sure do need the therapy.

So I'm in Maine. Grad school for the next six years if I don't get kicked, flunked or laughed out. "Biomedical Science" they call the program, but it's more like "survivor" training.

Here the idea seems more like "how much reading can you do before the information is just no longer relevant?" or "how long can a student survive on pasta before dying from scurvy or brittle-bone disease?". Stuff like that, and much more vulgar, hateful thoughts do cross my mind as I cope with some of my daily travails.

Anyway, therapy, therapy, therapy here. No one but the internet ghosts to read this stuff and my words on this electronic-paper being more useful to my well-being than any obligatory, three-thousand-dollar-a-year student health insurance physician that I've never been to.

I should, in retrospect, have gone to a professional school. This PhD, up-in-the-air-future-career, starving on no grant money, basic-science crap got old in day two of my grad school career. But for some reason I'm still committed. Yes, committed being the operative word. Visions of perseverence and/or straightjackets float by on the ether. If the perseverence part prevails, I need to get myself fitted for that tweed jacket soon. If the straightjacket encompasses all, I think I'll go with the red and yellow polka-dots on the green background clown suit with the pink unicorns and the weiley chihuahua sidekick to keep me company.

Yes, indeed, this typing is not as numbing of the feelings of agony as I thought it would be. Maybe it's because I have to type so many papers that this is just more work than therapy. Hmmm. Maybe.

The weather warmed up to 45F outside today and I'm frickin sweating bullets in my apartment. It's gotta be 102F in here. My downstairs neighbors apparently don't feel like turning off their radiator on days like this. Can't wait until it's freezing outside again.

Gotta go read the 100 or so journal articles I gotta read for this week before my weekend disappears. Gee, I love being alive. It's so exciting.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!