Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-03 - 6:38 p.m.

I live in a world in which metaphors make generalities of already very simple things. I hear it on the bus, I see it on television, I hear it on the radio, and it is a favorite among my friends, acquaintances, and people whom I do not know. It is a symbol of the zenith of the capacity of the layperson's reasoning that matters of life be reconstructed in a metaphor in order to be understood. It is a symptom of the incapacity of the present system to progress past its intellectual limit, citing the inheritors of wealth as the benefactors of the said system and the said limitations. Plausibly, it is in the benefit of all to maximize the mental potential of the capable in order to achieve what it is we must achieve. Whether it is nobler in the mind of the afore-mentioned that the system change and progress evolve among all, or that the status quo maintain and the stagnant remain, I am not to judge. It is suffice to say that it will not be a part of my dossier to be metaphoric. "Men have been taught that it is a virtue to agree with others. But the creator is the man who disagrees. Men have been taught that it is a virtue to swim with the current. But the creator is the man who goes against the current. Men have been taught that it is a virtue to stand together. But the creator is the man who stands alone." (Rand). If I have already become a part of this metaphorical incursion, heaven help me that the hypocracy runs deep in my mode. But if it is such that I deviate, I do not seek to be recognized or to advance, but to attain myself, for myself. My personal belief is that therein lies the key to personal freedom. Ironically, it cannot be attained alone, no matter what level of metaphoric understanding your co-conspirators retain.

"Detestation of the high is the involuntary homage of the low." - Dickens

If you read the above as I do, you see that he has a certain way of kicking you even when you are down that it makes you hate yourself.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!