Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-28 - 7:10 pm

Recently I have been reexamining my previous co-analysis of the similarities between the world's politics and economics and that of nature. Before I had this image where, albeit with a bit of fudging here and there, the way we humans conduct our politics and our economics was similar to nature's methods of evolution and competition and fitness. I used to think that they were rather parallel in comparison. However, recently I have been seeing more and more of the flaws that exist in the human version of the system. For example, it is safe to say that the capitalist world is run by competition, and the most fit survive and dominate or eradicate less fortunate ones. It has also been my critique that such a system is a) not sustainable because it demands servitude from the populace and has a finite breaking point, b) it depends on the assumed infinite nature of nature to bend to our frugivorous attitude and its never-ending capacity to accomodate our waste and refuse, c) that such competition is healthy and productive in its interdependence. Now, I am not saying that this correlation with nature is any less applicable after all of this spiel, but it has forced me to rethink the righteousness of nature. One must keep in mind that I tend to be the ever-continuing skeptic and that I doubt all things to a point where everything becomes a circular vortex of meaninglessness or conspiracy, which in turn renders me incapable of thinking for a while, but leave it to me to question the righteousness of the ways of nature. The human mind and its imagination can do wonders, n'est-ce pas? Anyway, it is in this light that I approach to question whether nature has the right idea either. It is finite in its capacity to accomodate its own spirit of competition, and inherent in the competition are aspects of sufferring and other reasons not to be.

Based on this assumption, I question humanity's decision to base its system of sovereignty on a faulty method that is not mutually beneficial and inherently fair. It becomes a matter of sovereignty and mutualistic decision-making. It calls into question, no, it outright discounts the many philosophical bases upon which the foundations of our belief system have been founded. Competition destroys lives. Mutualism preserves and prolongs lives equally. It is in the nature of human beings to question their role in the scheme of life on earth. We are seeing the evidence that if we base our model of existence on nature, we will destroy ourselves and nature. So I propose that we must base our existence more pragmatically, taking into account our ability to use our minds to strategize our prolonged survival, our fulfillment of curiosity of the unknown, and our equally powerful and equally justified will to live and thrive. Anything otherwise, as we are witness to today, is immoral and cruel and needs immediate rethinking.

---------------------------

"Learning the game of power requires a certain way of looking at the world, a shifting of perspective. The laws of power have a simple premise: certain actions always increase one's power ... while others decrease it and even ruin us."

-- writes Robert Greene

"Love of glory can only create a great hero; contempt of glory creates a great man."

"Since the masses are always eager to believe something, for their benefit nothing is so easy to arrange as facts."

"The art of statesmanship is to foresee the inevitable and to expedite its occurrence."

-- Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand

"I would like to see the truth clearly before it is too late."

--Jean-Paul Sartre

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!