Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-03 - 9:22 p.m.

For a very long times I was afraid that the United States was going to attack my birthplace, Iran. When the Bush Administration came to power and bombastically announced that they were going to "eradicate terrorism" and to fight the Axis of Evil (my namesake and the basis of my choosing the screen name), I feared to see the scenes being played out on television, repeated innumerable times, from other wars in which the United States has previously engaged. Those of Vietnam, Iraq, Korea, Yugoslavia, among others. Those of tanks and guns and fighter planes, flying over the biblical home of "Paradise": "Pardis". Those of dying babies, dying soldiers, citizens bombed accidentally due to smart-bombs having mental breakdowns. Those of crushed homes, crushed livelihoods, and crushed hearts. I was afraid of seeing the corpses of my military-duty-age cousins and family members hollowed out from "Bunker-Busting" Bombs and Enriched-Uranium-Capped artillery shells. I was afraid that I would see all of my family members and fellow Iranians suffer from years of progressive cancer and other diseases from left-over mortar and spent munitions after such an attack. I was afraid of seeing the economy, the industry, the vested interests of hard-working Iranians, the future livelihoods and freedom from maquiladora-style servitude to American hegemonic corporate capitalists, go down the drain after so many years of resistance to the abuse, sanctions and political in-fighting between the two countries. I did not want to see America go to war with Iran.

In the last two weeks, the political situation in Iran has reached a critical point, in which the "reformist" faction of the government, i.e. the most liberal, most populace-supported and most powerless portion, has quit its role in the government. The liberal/reformist members of parliament have QUIT because two-thirds of them have been banned from participating in the upcoming elections (meaning not even the option of potential re-election for them) and the HUGE proportion of the reformist/liberal candidates running for the first time for any seat in government have been disqualified from participating at all! All of this commanded by the conservative, religious, unelected, MORONIC "council of guardians" that controls/oversees the "moral direction" of the regime of Iran. In my opinion, these uneducated, self-aggrandizing, ludicrously-inept bunch of thieves have gone too far. For decades they have robbed the Iranian people blind from their God-given right to the income derived from the sale, nay, the wasteful jettisoning of the natural resources beneath their feet. For years they have dished out and force-fed the people unholy religious tripe, with the claim that only they comprehend its intended meaning, garnished with all of the social restrictions that their stolen money could buy. For years I have been quiet about this stalemate between the conservatives and the reformists because there has always been the hope of slowly over-powering the minority group of religious idiots in power with the support of the 99.99% of the people in Iran who are ready for just such a change, and the minority members of the government who are ready to make that change for them, given the opportunity. Alas, it has come to this. The flexing of the puny mental muscles of the right, demonstrating to the international community that these idiots have no clue how the world works. Only, it is at the expense of righteousness, logic and with the sacrifice of the will of the people of Iran.

I no longer fear the attack of the United States upon Iran. I know that with such no-good ingrates running a country, the Iranian people would welcome the Americans and whatever change they should bring. Even I would welcome it. I want to see these bastards GONE. They have hijacked a nation and are using it to set an idiological precedent at the expense of Iranians EVERYWHERE! They do not deserve the money, the power, or the position to which they have laid claim. Get rid of them all, I say! Send them on a ship to nowhere!

--------------------------------

"Mankind shall not be free until the last king is strangled in the entrails of the last priest."

--Denis Diderot

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!