Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-05-01 - 10:09 a.m.

Let's stir things up a bit.
This morning I got up about 7am and turned on the morning television (local San Francisco) news. As of last night, I had put out of my mind anything that had to do with today, leaving the day to present itself as I journeyed into it. Amid the news was one about a landslide on I-80 which had slowed traffic from the north into San Francisco. There were tidbits of other news as well, and some things about the fantastic sunny weather to prevail this week. But the one thing that stood out for me was the newscaster who was at the site of the pro-(illegal)-immigrant Rally/Demonstration/Protest/Boycott thingy that was to take place in cities accross the United States today. If in the other cities of the US, the situation with the protesters was the same as what I saw behind the newscaster this morning at 7am, then the whole maelstrom of events is a self-fulfilling prophecy, reaffirming itself to me by this morning's news. As a disclaimer, I must say that having lived in San Francisco, I have participated in a fair share of protests and rallies. I have gotten up at the bum-crack of dawn to help assemble and launch them. It takes effort and coordination and dilligence to make a good rally. Now you get what I am hinting at? Am I being crude and rude and wrong? Maybe. But it is simply my observation, and thanks to the morning news, it is an honest reflection. You must infer for yourselves what it means and what I imply....The plaza, at 7am on the day of a HUGE rally, was empty.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!