Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-04-04 - 3:47 p.m.

I have an axe to grind with the recent actions of the Iranian government, regarding the capture of the 15 British Marine and Navy personnel in the Persian Gulf. The announcement was made that that these military folks were to be released today. I don't know the background behind their capture. I don't know the background behind their release. I DO know that when a country is trying to be a civilized member of the international community, it DOES NOT HOLD HOSTAGES! Military or not, you're not supposed to hold people against their will and negotiate their release with pompousness and vindictiveness. If Iran even considered itself a friend of the international community, it would have done what friendly nations do when such international transgressions occur: That is, they hold briefly, and release promptly, the transgressors, and discuss the situation with inclusive dialogue. I am ashamed of the actions of Iran's government, before, during and after the incident with the capture of the British. And that is my two cents.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!