Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-05-20 - 6:18 p.m.

Every time I try to pick myself up, something pushes me back down. Whether it's the weather, or news, or the state of my life, it is hard to stand on my own two feet and take on the world every day. Yet day after day, life goes on. I contemplated the reasons for this many years ago. I contemplate them to this day. I will contemplate them until I die or even longer than that. My worry is that eventually, the answer will be that there was no reason for any of it. I would not be surprised.

I promised a while ago that I would write something on the evils of capitalism. Every day I run accross stories, ideas, and occurrences that remind me of just why capitalism is evil. Yet they always go into my "there's another one" mental category and somehow disappear. Biology never stops for anyone.

I actually have a good start this time. I was listening to a CD called "The seven habits of highly effective people". At one point, the author (and narrator) made a point about how if each of us want to maximize our potentials and have positive lives and positive outcomes of our endeavours and make proactive decisions, we need to change our perspectives from the "me" to the "we". The author went on to give examples of daily things around the office and interactions with co-workers and how to win more clients for your business and how to avoid losing customers, etc. Although this can be (and actually was the story on the CD) used in capitalistic terms, the idea can be seen much more universally. Here's what I mean.

Capitalism is the epitome of individual strife and success. Capitalism drives people to competition and leads to ingenuity and progress in business and technology. Capitalism is the individual vs the individual. Capitalism is the strife to gain the most money at the least cost. Capitalism is the narrowing down of everything that is humane and friendly in the name of maximizing profit. Capitalism is the reason the environment has been taken to the brink of stability, people have paid with their lives to suppress their opposition to it, and "community" has been disestablished because it is the root of "communism". In other words, Capitalism is a system that takes the value of people as people out of its philosophy, and replaces it with people as commodity. Hence, equal redistribution of capital, in the name of humanitarianism, is nonsensical because it is not profitable. Furthermore, those same people are indoctrinated into serfdom at the behest of the Capitalist, because the same source of serf labor is also the source of purchasing power.

If we are going to get anywhere as a species, we must acknowledge that Capitalism is going to destroy us. Period! Not all of the activism on the planet can stop the runaway train that is the destructive Capitalist mentality. Not to mention reverse the devastating effects it has already had on the environment, the usefulness of society and the populations of indiginous life and peoples of the planet. I am disgruntled that I cannot do anything to stop this stinking wrath of "individualism", when we need to come together as one to discuss the reality of our world and its upcoming destruction. I am disgruntled at the blindness of people at just how evil money really is. The simple existence of money brings greed, and death. Why can't we see that?

I'm sorry I must go here. I am in a hurry. You know I will continue this later. I always do. This is all I ever write about! What is my life coming to?!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!