Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-19 - 11:10 p.m.

I am saddened that the essential questions of human existence on Earth have not been posed to the people of our planet. Those questions being, "What are we doing here, and where are we going to go together?" If these two questions were asked and answered, we would save a lot of trouble for ourselves. The key would be to ask it of everyone equally, and weigh everyone's answer just as equally. However, we have consistently proven our inability to rise above our animal mentality. The issue is that some of us may have asked the question of ourselves and of our fellows, but it fails to become a global focus. In fact, it is to certain people's advantage that the question is not asked, because they are greedily gaining by it. Unfortunately, the gain is at the expense of many, many more than those who gain. I loathe to reiterate "if you cannot beat them, join them," because it puts me in a position of a sadist, knowing the things I know and practicing the personal philosophy that I practice. It is devastating to realize, acknowledge, and stand helplessly to observe how the "survival of self" completely overpowers and annihilates any remnant of the "survival of species"...any species, including our own. To think about it logically, if we continue on this path, our planet will purge us because of our pestilent nature. We have not risen above our competitive methodology of eliminating other individuals' (of any species) survival chances by outbreeding them and taking their resources. If we allow this animal-like barbarity and prehistoric mentality of human worth, and wayside relegation of the value of the gift of LIFE, (which is all we really have in this short period of time here) to continue as it has, I cower and shame in calling myself a member of this "intelligent" animal group.

----------------------------

Some wonderful quotes from Dr. Albert Einstein

----------------------------

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."

"He who joyfully marches to music rank and file, has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would surely suffice. This disgrace to civilization should be done away with at once. Heroism at command, how violently I hate all this, how despicable and ignoble war is; I would rather be torn to shreds than be a part of so base an action. It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder."

"My religion consists of a humble admiration of the illimitable superior spirit who reveals himself in the slight details we are able to perceive with our frail and feeble mind."

"The release of atom power has changed everything except our way of thinking...the solution to this problem lies in the heart of mankind. If only I had known, I should have become a watchmaker."

"A man's ethical behavior should be based effectually on sympathy, education, and social ties; no religious basis is necessary. Man would indeeded be in a poor way if he had to be restrained by fear of punishment and hope of reward after death."

"The further the spiritual evolution of mankind advances, the more certain it seems to me that the path to genuine religiosity does not lie through the fear of life, and the fear of death, and blind faith, but through striving after rational knowledge."

"Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted counts."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!