Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-25 - 5:41 p.m.

Almost everyone I know has the personality type where they are transformed into a certain person adapted to another person. What I mean is, whenever I see a friend (or myself for that matter) talking to another person, I see a change in my friend (or me) to fit their own role in relation to that person. Extremely rarely do I see a consistency of a person's personality type among all peoples. Unfortunately, perhaps fortunately actually, this rare individual is the withdarawn or impersonable type whose relations to everyone is rare. In interacting with people, this person is very limited and therefore consistent among everyone they interact with. I say perhaps fortunately because this person does not have to worry about 1) duplicity, and 2) impressional criticism. I envy thsoe two things, but I am content in being the creature I am right now too. In the prophetically ideal world, the pseudo-Rand personality type would be the best possession I know. But, as cliche would have it, we do not live in an ideal world. In fact, it is the very duality in us that makes the world interesting. My interaction, and presumably everyone else's interactions, with certain individuals take shape at every meeting according to the nature of the relationship. I interact one way with one teacher, another way with another teacher, and a different way altogether with a freind, and another way with a different friend. I am trying to cut down on this. It takes too much effort to remember how I am supposed to act with one person and how with another. I want life to be simple like that. It is like the old proverbial, "Oh what a tangled web we weave, when we practice to decieve", whereas in this context, it is not deception, it is just a matter of remembering and conserving the nature of a relationship the way it originally came to be developed. Again, it is difficult because relationships change over time, as do people and their ideologies. Occasionally you have the drastic changes and therefore drastic consequences on relationships. I am indifferent to change because it is a universal constant and I experience it daily myself, but regretfully, it is tiresome to try to remember what changes have ocurred, so that past relationships can be recalled when needed for the sake of preserving the old format of the personality and perhaps the friendships. Again, another aspect of this is the liberality of the persons involved. If the relationship of two individuals was based on liberal personalities, there would not be a problem of straining to recall the nature of the relationship, because both people accept change. However, and this is where my problem lies, is when one of the two or both individuals have a conservative personality type, wherein there is a fine line to be walked and rules not to be broken for risk of straining the relationship, especially when there is an interdependent mutualism. What to do, what to do.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!